Your Non-Binary Gender Identity Is Valid No Matter Your Age

It doesn’t matter when you discover a non-binary gender identity, your identity is valid no matter if your in high school or in a retirement home. I have seen plenty of ridicule aimed at teens and young adults who have come out and declared a non-binary gender. Buzz words like, “special snowflake,” are aimed at youth and young adults who have discovered their gender identity after soul searching and research. If I can help dispel such nonsense, I’m happy to do so. I know if I’d had information about non-binary gender identity available decades ago I would have discovered my gender identity much, much earlier in my life. So I am allowing myself to be an example of an older person with a non-binary gender identity. I hope this helps younger non-binary find support they desperately need. Sure, there will be some who are unsure at first. I had those same doubts. I, however, was able to shrug off those uncertainties and affirm my identity.

I’m a proud trans/agender/non-binary/genderqueer person. This constellation of non-binary gender identities is still coalescing. As a part of that process new identities are being introduced as people review their unique situations. Will this process eventually lead to a smaller number of identities? Yes, I believe it will. What is important is that for many people, who don’t feel completely male of female, or feel like a blending of male and female, or, like me, they don’t feel like either gender, now have an identity. We know that there are others like us and we share our stories. As a result there are fewer people confused about their gender and are now free to find others like themselves. Together we will fight for our right to be heard, understood and protected from discrimination. Then we can move on with our lives, perhaps finding spouses, or choosing to remain single, selecting a field of study, upon graduating we’ll find fulfilling employment and begin to give back to society. Then, as members of the LGBTQIA+ community, we can continue to create a diverse and vibrant community. That is a future we can all get behind!

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Your Non-Binary Gender Identity Is Valid No Matter Your Age

  1. vicromero says:

    A sweet and empowering post ☺️💫

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

