Orlando: Love doesn’t always win

I have been overwhelmed since the tragic events of early Sunday morning at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando took place. I have tweeted more stories than I can count but I haven’t been able to get in touch with my own feelings. In good time I will have something to say but in the meantime I’m sharing the thoughts of other bloggers. First up is Karen writing for The Queerness…

The Queerness

In light of the events in Orlando, Karen Pollock considers the ideas of blame, responsibility and how we should respond.


My Facebook feed announces vigil after vigil.

My Twitter timeline is full of people checking in with each other.

My friends and family seem shell-shocked by the ‘It could have been me’ thoughts.

Almost 50 queer people lie dead, their life taken from them by a gunman as they celebrated their queer and latinx identities.

How do we process these facts? The night at Pulse was intended to be a celebration, part of Orlando Pride week, at a club which had become a community hub. Now it’s the sight of a massacre, where the phones of the dead ring out in a heartbreaking requiem.

I imagine many LGBTQ+ people can remember the first time they stepped into a queer space. The fear, the anxiety, the what if I am seen…

View original post 741 more words

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orlando: Love doesn’t always win

  1. Jim says:

    I’ll immediately grab your rss feed as I can not in finding
    your e-mail subscription link or newsletter
    service. Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me understand in order that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

