Alex Zorach: Questioning My Gender – How I Realized I am Nonbinary Transgender

It is difficult to find nonbinary role models who were assigned male at birth. In an ideal world a person’s gender designation at birth shouldn’t matter but this is not an ideal world. The issues encountered when discovering and accepting your nonbinary gender identity are different for those of us who were assigned male at birth. So when I find articulate voices I will highlight them for you. This then is Alex’s story:

 My past videos about gender have been more informational / educational. Here I share my personal story of how I struggled with figuring out my gender identity because of a lack of examples of open non-binary people in my life, and misconceptions about what it meant to be trans, that I picked up from the transphobic culture I grew up in. I talk about how once I met people with nonbinary identities, figuring out my own identity became much easier and clearer.

Alex’s Gender Unicorn:

  

  

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

