My New Robo-Kitty

So on a bit of an impulse I ordered this product from Hasbro called the Joy For All Companion Pet. This is quote the cute toy as you can see from this video. It purrs and vibrates while purring, meows, mimics liking it’s paw, rolls over so you can pet it’s belly, and closes it’s eyes in contentment if you rub it’s cheeks. What it doesn’t do is scratch, require a litter box or need to be fed (except batteries. What is particularly surprising, and a bit unnerving at first, is that if you turn the light on or off or make a noise it will let out a meow-sigh. The first time it happened I was a bit startled. Now it just seems sweet.

image

Now, you already know I’m eccentric if you read my recent post for the Liebster Award and saw my living room full of wild animal plushies. I also have a bedroom full of teddy bears and care bears, many of them gifts given because of my nickname and my advocacy of empathy, (hence the care bears). I even managed to track down some fairy bears to go with my agender/genderqueer nickname “Fairy JerBear.”

image

It should be clear to you by now that I have a very active inner child. I have a couple care bears that talk when you push their belly or hold their hands together. Usually saying sweet sappy things like “I like sharing hugs with you!” I even have a Pikachu that talks and wiggles his ears and it’s cheeks light up, (see photo). This new “companion pet” was designed as a toy for all ages but, seniors in particular. The folks at Hasbro heard stories of adults playing with some of their other automated toys and we’re inspired to create this semi-realistic cat. I gave to admit it is a great stress reliever and it’s welcoming meow really seals the deal. If you’re interested and want to learn more you can check out the dedicated website http://joyforall.hasbro.com/en-us/our-story

Below is another video of seniors enjoying their Companion Cat:

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

