How Getting Dressed As A Non-Binary Individual Is A Political Act | Bustle

This article by Meg Zulch writing for Bustle, looks at the reality that dressing as our authentic selves is a political act. I really believe that in my case the personal is political. When I go out in a skirt with leggings or knee high socks, and a t-shirt saying agender babe I am making a statement about the gender binary. Because I am living in the body I inherited and have lived in for 59 years, I realize that my decision to live authentically, after decades of masquerading as a man, means I stand out from the crowd. I have spent my life as an activist for one cause or another. Many of those efforts were to advance LGBT rights. For a couple decades it was nearly impossible to advance Trans rights. Then slowly Transgender issues were addressed and gender identity along with sexual orientation was added to non-discrimination laws, including here in New Mexico. Now efforts are underway to reverse advances made by Trans activists. At a time like this it is important for me to do my part by doing traditional activism but also by dressing and living my life authentically.

Here then is Meg Zulch

image

D Dipasupil/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

image

Meg Zulch

I’ve always thought that politics have a way of informing art and fashion. As a young lover of all things sartorial, watching Gaga strut in machine gun bras and meat dresses or admiring Jeremy Scott’s critique of capitalist consumerism make it clear to me that fashion is political — even if sometimes the artist doesn’t intend for it to be. Personally, I believe all art is political. Whether we make conscious choices to reflect this or not, our creations mirror our personal experiences, struggles, and beliefs, therefore representing the inherent politics of each individual artist or human.

For some, however, it is almost impossible to step away from this political identity. For trans and genderqueer people, as well as other gender non-conforming individuals, wearing clothes for the fun of it is rarely that simple. When living in a society that doesn’t know how to classify you while existing in a body that is gender fluid, your very existence is hugely political. As a person who identifies as genderqueer, and as a person assigned female at birth who loves to present masculinely half the time, I can definitely relate

Continue reading this article here at Bustle:
http://www.bustle.com/articles/125713-how-getting-dressed-as-a-non-binary-individual-is-a-political-act

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

