I refuse to be a victim, so I took a stand, Tomlinson says

A true hero shares his story…

76 CRIMES

Maurice Tomlinson (Photo courtesy of International Planned Parenthood Federation) Maurice Tomlinson (Photo courtesy of International Planned Parenthood Federation)

I considered myself to be a very confident person. That changed suddenly a few years ago when I received a particularly vicious email death threat because of my advocacy for the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) Jamaicans. In vulgar language the author made plain that, if I did not immediately cease my calls for an end to homophobic victimization and violence, then I would die.

I was certainly no stranger to verbal and electronic abuse because of my activism. In fact, it was par for the course in my country, where so many persons have fallen victim to the vile anti-gay rhetoric being whipped up by fundamentalist evangelicals with the support of their Global North backers. However, the immediacy and the potency of the latest threat startled me, and for the first time I heeded the…

View original post 1,091 more words

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

