6 Reasons Your Discomfort with They/Them Pronouns Reveals Unchecked Cis Privilege — Everyday Feminism

image

From TransStudent.org

Some perspective on resistance to using They/Them pronouns from this article from Ashley Truong at Everyday Feminism. Obviously this impacts me as an Agender person who prefers they/them pronouns. I have found some difficulty in conveying why this is important to me but on the whole my request is being accepted. Here’s an excerpt from the opening paragraphs of the article. Continue reading this article by following the link at the bottom of this post.

Meeting new people can be hard. For some people, anxiety or shyness may be the reason why. For me, it’s because I don’t know whether I should tell them my pronouns or not.

You see, my pronouns are they/theirs. You might have met other people who use those pronouns. There are many different reasons why someone uses those pronouns. I use them because I’m genderfluid, so I don’t feel comfortable with either he/his or she/hers.

However, I often decide not to tell people what my pronouns are, especially if they’re cisgender (cis) – meaning they identify with the gender they were assigned at birth.

Why? Well, cis people can react pretty negatively when asked to use pronouns that they don’t think “fit” the person.

They get uncomfortable, upset, or sometimes even angry. Their reactions are hurtful. I knew someone who asked why people who use they/theirs don’t just use “it” instead. The statement wasn’t directed at me, but it was still dehumanizing and upsetting.

If you don’t understand the point of using the correct pronouns or get upset having to think about them, it’s probably because of your cis privilege.

It’s not because trans and non-binary people are making things up, or because gender theory is a whole bunch of crock.

It’s because you’re being forced to confront something that’s out of your comfort zone.

In all honesty, getting someone’s pronouns right is pretty easy. All you have to do is agree to use them!

So if you’re still uncomfortable with pronouns, here are six reasons why that’s a sign of your cis privilege.

Continue reading this article here at Everyday Feminism:
http://everydayfeminism.com/2015/12/they-pronouns-cis-privilege/

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

