Why Aren’t More Trans People Denouncing Truscum?

Sam weighs in on the transmedicalists and how their message is hurtful to many in the trans community who don’t or can’t transition medically. This obviously contributes to non-binary erasure as transitioning to a non-binary gender identity does not always involve medical intervention. By reblogging this I am standing up against harassment of trans bloggers like Sam.

Let's Queer Things Up!

harassment2“I’m sorry, are you publicly asking me about my genitals or am I mistaken?” @SamDylanFinch

If you asked me where the vast majority of my online harassment comes from, you might be surprised to know that it comes from other transgender people.

Ever since I published this article on why body dysphoria is not what makes a person transgender, the pushback on social media by a small but vocal minority has been intense.

The efforts to silence me, all on the basis that I am not “trans enough,” has revealed a really dark side to the trans community that I never knew existed.

This minority has consisted of transmedicalists (also referred to as truscum), who believe that the only valid transgender people are those who experience body dysphoria, desire a “binary” medical transition, and are pursuing hormones and surgery.

All other trans people are not considered “true trans,”…

View original post 1,041 more words

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

