How Can We Include Non-Binary People in Gendered Spaces?

A must read post about transitioning as a non-binary person and a blogger. This deals with issues like people policing who is and isn’t non-binary and/or trans enough. As a fellow non-binary gender identified person I really relate to this pist. Thankfully I have had a more welcoming reception but I see these issues arise, particularly on Tumblr. I find that reception in the real world has been even more welcoming thanks to an inclusive trans community.

Note: the reblog below may not display in the browser linked with the Facebook app. So either use a regular browser or go to the post directly here: http://letsqueerthingsup.com/2015/12/06/how-can-we-include-non-binary-people-in-gendered-spaces/

Let's Queer Things Up!

nbmemeThis meme is basically my life.

I think it’s interesting to be writing about my gender transition so publicly. I am not always given the luxury of uncertainty or ambiguity.

But truthfully, I am still getting to know who I am and, by extension, how my gender manifests in the world.

I’ve used a lot of words to describe myself: Genderqueer, non-binary, transmasculine, genderfluid, genderweird, androgynous, agender, even bigender to name a handful. I’ve used ze/hir pronouns, e/em pronouns, they/them pronouns, he/him pronouns.

I think of these labels as hats that I’ve tried on at different points in my life, searching for what fits, what suits me.

I’ve made no effort to hide the fact that I’m a gender explorer. I haven’t settled anywhere just yet – and I am comfortable in that fluid space. I dabble in femininity, masculinity, androgyny, and agender expressions and I’ve found happiness in liberating…

View original post 1,762 more words

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

