One of the 21%

image

Photo via Facebook

I am one of those 21% who avoid going out. I already had Anxiety/Panic Attack Disorder so the paranoia and fear brought on by trying to buck the gender binary and not try to “pass” as either a male or a female but as a person beyond gender just adds to the anxiety. Me being true to myself makes others nervous, or at least that’s my impression.

I’m not a slim teen or young adult who can find acceptance in a peer group that gets the whole trans/non-binary gender scene. I am a 50 something year old, chubby, disabled person that inherited a hairy body. When I wear a skirt and knee high socks an Agender t-shirt a bit of makeup and my long hair, I feel comfortable and true to my authentic self. Unfortunately some people in the world see me as a “weird old man in a skirt.” Still I am slowly building up the courage to be myself I am now confident enough to go out in my preferred atire as long as I’m with someone. That why Trans friends and Allies are important and why I am so appreciate those special people in my life!

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

