New Atheist Movement: Why Are Atheists So Hated?

Of all the things that describe me, being a Humanist/Atheist is the one that concerns or confuses people the most. I’m always hesitant to mention it if people don’t know this about me. Here in Santa Fe there are a lot of Catholics or at least cultural Catholics as well as other Christians. On the other hand there are also quite a few “New Agey” folks. So when the conversation begins to vear off to Catholic or other Christian beliefs or people start talking about things like crystals, pagan rituals, things associated with the occult, alternative health practices and so on I become uncomfortable. When the casual conversation vears into the realm of beliefs I get very nervous, because I want to contribute my opinion but hesitate to voice it. I feel there is a double standard, in that such conversation about theist and other supernatural beliefs is widely tolerated, but if someone speaks up for reason, science and logic, without a deity, they are accused of being a “radical atheist.” I prefer to describe myself as a Secular Humanist, a person who believes in good without god/gods. I am very respectful of others’ conversation in the realm of belief as long as their beliefs don’t infringe on other’s rights. All I ask is the same courtesy be extended to me and other non-theists.

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

