Non-binary gender inclusion in the workplace

An excellent post on how to be inclusive of non-binary gender identities in the work place. I have received questions about this from followers on timblr. As more non-binary individuals enter the work place this will become an even bigger issue. The percentage of high school and college age non-binary students is only going to increase. When these individuals hit the work place there will be a lot of employers asking questions. Articles like this will help both employees and employers. I cam out after leaving the work place due to disability. I often wonder how I would have been received had I come out while employed.

The Queerness

With recent progress made for trans men and women in law and society, we risk leaving non-binary trans individuals behind. Aria Ehren examines the issues facing non-binary transgender people in the workplace and makes recommendations on inclusive policy and practice for employers.


I am neither non-binary, nor an expert in Human Resources. I am a transgender woman who previously identified as genderqueer and socially transitioned over 9 months in 2013. As I was still discovering myself, not much was said to my employer throughout my transition until they inquired formally, though it was well-known in my social circles by then. My transition most visibly included changes to my gender expression which affected interactions with coworkers and management. I hesitate to speak on non-binary issues as I no longer identify as non-binary myself, but I know from experience that there is very little support available for non-binary employees in the workplace. I…

View original post 2,084 more words

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

