Why I Am An Agender Feminist and Why Nonbinary Gender Identified Persons, Designated Male At Birth (DMAB), Need Feminism

I wrote this a bit over a month ago but it didn’t get much of a reaction. I think it’s important so I am reblogging this and encourage you to read it and respond. Thanks!

Fairy JeriBear's Trans/LGBTQIA+ Musings From The City Different - Santa Fe, NM

image
Art by RiotCakes

I have always considered myself a feminist . At times in my life I have been a flawed feminist because I was socialized as a cis-male most of my life. I’d say that the aha moment for me came when I started working in HIV/AIDS care and prevention. I noticed many similarities between the way women were treated and the way gay men, particularly more feminine gay men, we’re treated. I read books like Homophobia, The Weapon of Sexism by Suzanne Pharr which drew clear links between people’s prejudice and hatred of gay people and people’s prejudice and hatred of women. I worked with women in battered women’s shelters and worked with a rape crisis center establishing and HIV counseling and testing program. I also had a roommate for a couple of years who was an ardent feminist. There were also lesbian friends of mine that on…

View original post 1,170 more words

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

