Planned Parenthood Stood With Us. Now Queer Folks Need to #StandWithPP.

I couldn’t agree more. I worked with Planned Parenthood numerous times when I was HIV/STD coordinator for a state health department and they do wonderful work. During the ’90s my then spouse worked for Planned Parenthood. I remember the fear when I found some crazed anti-choice nut shot up a clinic and I knew Greg had gone to the area. Thankfully he was at a different facility but I was terrified for a bit. I went with him to the memorial service for the employees who didn’t make it. I will never forget this as long as I live!

I has my own share of run-ins with anti-choice, anti-sex ed types in my time providing classes for high schools. They have no shame and even tried to edit in aborted fetus pictures into a video of a presentation I did for a school committee considering using our program,

So, yes I stand with Planned Parenthood and any other clinic providing women’s health services (decoy anti-choice “clinics” not included).

Let's Queer Things Up!

My partner, who had waited for years to start testosterone as part of their transition, had exhausted nearly every option before finally turning to Planned Parenthood to start HRT.

Planned Parenthood had long been our provider of choice for many health care services because, as a low-income transgender couple, we needed care that was both affordable and queer-friendly.

The image features a pink sticker that says "Planned Parenthood" stuck to the sidewalk.We need to stop pretending that this issue doesn’t affect us.

Planned Parenthood made us feel safe and respected, in contrast to the misgendering, interrogating of our identities, and ridiculing by nurses and doctors who didn’t understand what it meant to be trans, let alone how to treat trans patients.

They modeled for us what respectful, competent healthcare looks like when dealing with queer populations.

Planned Parenthood stood by us, and when we were ready, they were there for my partner to start their medical transition when everyone else shut the door…

View original post 509 more words

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

