Recommended Reading: On Campus with Saskatchewan’s Two-Spirit, Gay, Cree, Transgender Student Union President | VICE

An interesting and inspiring story about a Transgender, Two-Spirit, Cree gay man at The University of Saskatchewan in Canada. Continue reading this article from Geraldine Malone writing for Vice. Continue reading this article by following the link at the bottom of this post…

image

Jack Saddleback, in green shirt and blazer, welcomes U of S students during orientation. Photo by Geraldine Malone for Vice

While shaking hands, handing out day planners, and getting students to vote on a silly costume he would have to wear, University of Saskatchewan Student Union (USSU) president Jack Saddleback also tries to answer many questions about himself.

Saddleback faces a lot of queries because he represents so many different identities that many students—especially those coming from small towns or other countries—have never come across. Saddleback is a Two-Spirit, Cree, transgender, gay man.

“I find with my own identities and how they intersect, I take on that responsibility to just be open about myself because I think about what my life was like when I was growing up. I think about that young person going through those school systems and I think about how alone I felt at that time,” Saddleback told VICE. “I don’t want that for another youth, I don’t want our future generations to have to go through that. I want them to see themselves in these places, in these institutions, in our society as a whole. I find it’s important for me to be able to speak out and be proud about who I am, and those struggles I’ve had to go through are a part of my story.”

Saskatchewan has a complicated history when it comes to Saddleback’s Aboriginal heritage and his LGBTQ identity…

Continue reading this article here at Vice:
http://www.vice.com/read/on-campus-with-saskatchewans-two-spirit-gay-cree-transgender-student-president

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

