You must be this trans to get into our community: erasure and oppression of Non-Binary and Genderless folk.

Don’t erase us!
This was the comment I left in response to this post:

Hi, I certainly have many of the concerns you have but my experience in the non-online world and amongst select online friends/followers has been quite different. I remember going to my first meeting of our local transgender support group afraid that I’d be disrespected for identifying as agender. In fact I was welcomed with open arms. I am now quite active within the group and have never felt any evidence of non-binary discrimination. I do get the issue of erasure and the importance of acknowledging agender/non-binary/genderqueer identities. That is happening here through sharing ideas, relevant posts, etc. I guess my point is that most trans people are welcoming. I sometimes think we mistake attention seeking behavior for popular opinion. The truth is so called “truscum” are a minority. Most trans people get that we’re all in this together and we face a common enemy in transphobia, effeminaphobia and transmisogyny. I do feel underrepresented in the extreme as an agender person, over 50, who was dmab, but I try and spread the word that we exist and deserve respect.

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You must be this trans to get into our community: erasure and oppression of Non-Binary and Genderless folk.

  1. One can but hope the transmedicalists are happy at all the free coverage we are suddenly giving them… though from the general tone of comments on my page it seems they need to polish their arguments a bit if they want to persuade anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

