Navigating Fashion When You’re Agender – Racked

One of my dear friends gave me a heads up about this essay. It’s by Tyler Ford* whom you may recognize as Miley Cyrus’s date recently. Tyler is one of their generation’s activists that have kicked off the non-binary gender identity revolution. Since Tyler and I share the same gender identity, (or in our case genderless identity), I owe them alot. Here’s the opening paragraphs of Tyler’s essay appearing in Racked.com:

image

Tyler Ford -- Photo by Miley Cyrus

1.

Wearing a uniform to school has its perks—nobody stands out because everybody looks identical, and the lack of choices makes getting dressed a no-brainer. What do I want to look like? At nine years old, I’m not really sure, but I do know that I will never wear a skirt, skort, or, god forbid, a jumper. How am I supposed to run or sit criss-cross-applesauce or hang out with boys in a skirt? Wear a skirt once and my “boy” street cred will be ruined; they’ll know I’m not really one of them.

So every day is a variation on the same outfit: a navy or white collared shirt, navy or khaki shorts that stop just before my knees, and sneakers, with my incredibly curly hair pulled back into a single braid. On weekends, I wear my cousin’s hand-me-downs: boxy skater shirts and basketball shorts. People call us tomboys and I’m okay with settling for this identity, but only because “boy” takes up half of the word…

Continue reading Tyler’s entire essay, (sections 2-8 as well as 1 show above), here at Racked.com

*Tyler Ford (@tywrent) is a 24-year-old agender poet. They are a staff writer for Rookie, a contributor for MTV, and their work has recently been published in Poetry Magazine as well as featured in The New York Times.

Note: My Agender style is evolving. Once I get it all sorted out I’ll share it with you.

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

