A Fabulous Website: A Note to My Kid

This is a fantastic website that all LGBTQ people young and old should know about here’s a description of their site:

A Note to My Kid gives the LGBTQ community, their parents, families and friends the opportunity to share their unconditional love with one another. 

The site also gives anyone the opportunity to share uplifting, personal stories relating to the LGBTQ community. 

Write a note. Share a video. Submit a picture. The impact could be greater than you’ve ever imagined!

Here’s just one of the amazing letters or “notes” on the site:

A Note to Taylor from Mom 
(Surrey, British Columbia, Canada)

A Tribute to My Son

There’s tiaras and wigs on the closet shelf. Feathers from coloured boas flutter around the room and the floor glitters with sequins.

There’s an eye lash in the sink, lipstick on cups and I don’t even wear lipstick. Dress bags hang in my closet and yours. You want to borrow my panty hose and my bra????? 

A false fingernail just got caught in the vacuum and you have more heels and purses than I do.

You are my son, you are gay and you are a drag queen. 

What a path we have travelled since that night when you told me you were gay and I answered: “No you aren’t you just think you are because you have been hanging out with those guys for too long”. What I knew about homosexuality back then would have filled one line of an address book.

But I determined I would learn so I could convince you that you really were not gay and so I could change you.

As Dr. Phil would say how’s that working? Well, you know and I know, that didn’t work and I soon discovered that the person who had to change was not you but me.

I remember trying to keep everything a secret because I was afraid of what people would say and react. How could I possibly have a gay son and especially one who was a drag queen and performed in dresses and wigs?

I soon realized that it was better to accept you as you were and have you in my life than to lose you because of my unacceptance.

There was never a moment when I didn’t love you nor when I didn’t want you to be in my life. But many times I handled things wrong and many times we both said and did things that were hurtful. But over the years I have come to realize how much I have learned from you.

I learned that we have to accept ourselves for who we are regardless of others around us and we have to proudly hold up our heads and say ok folks this is me take me or leave me.

I have learned acceptance of other people. Not everyone thinks and feels the same about things and I needed to not be quite so rigid in my belief that everything has to be done a certain way.

I have watched you struggle, stumble and fall down. But I have also watched you pick yourself up, determine that you could beat the odds and get your life back on track. You have displayed an inner strength and determination that is inspiring and you have succeeded in changing things around and I am proud of you for that. 

Visit this amazing site here:
http://www.anotetomykid.com/a-note-to-my-kid/ Because of you I have met some wonderful people. I have had the pleasure of meeting sons and daughters who were disowned by their parents and have been able to show them love and affection. I have never been able to figure out how anyone could turn their back on their child and even though I didn’t always understand why you did the things you did I never ever ceased to love you.

You brought many things into my life. We have laughed together, we have cried together, we have shared our heartfelt feelings and we have even yelled together. But never ever over these years would I have not wanted you for my son.

I have gone from not wanting anyone to know about our “family secret” to quite openly discussing the fact I have a gay son and to clapping the loudest and longest at the drag shows I have attended where you were performing. 

I am proud of you for being who you are and I wouldn’t want to change one thing about you. There’s not enough room to list all the reasons I am proud of you and how much you mean to me. I hope you know though I don’t say it often enough that this mother loves you with all her heart and without you my life would not be complete.

Our journey down this path of life has thrown us some curve balls it hasn’t always been an easy trek. But we have been there for each other. We have a bond and a love for each other that no one can break and as long as I am on this earth I will love and support you. Maybe I won’t always understand or agree but I will never cease to love you. God placed you in this family for a reason and I am so glad that he did.

Elaine, Mom

About Fairy JerBear

A disabled, trans/agender fairy bear living in the American Southwest and passionate about social justice, the environment, Trans/ LGBTQIA+ equality and combating bullying.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

